Help! I Have No Patience!!!

I asked the angels to help me to be more patient.

Me

I have real trouble with it, especially when I am waiting to be served at a cafe , or if I am in a queue at the airport or in a shop or especially a queue for the toilets! I get really irritable and cross.  I push ahead of other people if I can get away with it.  I don’t want to wait my turn.  I get bored and fidgety.  I would really like to be one of those Zen, laid back, sort of people who are happy to wait their turn!

A

May we ask you what it is that you hope to gain from being more patient?

Me

Interesting question!  I imagine it would feel better.  I imagine it would be more relaxing and less stressful if I were a patient person.  I associate patience with serenity and ease.

A

You enjoy feelings of serenity and ease?

Me

Yes I do.

A

And if you enjoy these feelings, what is it, do you suppose that prevents you from experiencing them when you are waiting to be served or you find yourself becoming impatient?

Me

I think it has to do with the strong desire to get to the thing that I am waiting for.  I don’t like waiting for things.  Especially if I am hungry, but even if I am just waiting to get into the cinema, or waiting to get on a plane.  It seems like a waste of time because I can’t relax and enjoy myself if I am waiting for something.  I spend the time texting people on my phone!

A

How do you know that you cannot relax in these situations?

Me

I don’t know for sure, but I don’t seem to be able to.

A

Might it be true to say that for you, this time spent waiting does not seem either useful or enjoyable?

Me

It would be true to say that, yes!

A

And if there were a way in which this time could be made both useful and also enjoyable, might that change your perspective?

Me

I daresay it would, yes.

A

Has it ever occurred to you that just as any changes that take place in your external reality affect your internal reality, changes in your internal reality are also affecting your external reality?

Me

Well, of course that has occurred to me, yes!  I have read a lot of books about how energy affects our reality.  You know that!

A

And so, might it not be potentially valuable, to have pockets of time in which to practice changing and experimenting with your internal reality?  Opportunities to re-attune, as it were?

Me

I suppose that is true.  It might be valuable.

A

For example, the next time that you are standing in line for something, might it not be interesting to bring your attention to your own energy body, and to see how you might play around with light and colour, in order to raise your vibration and lighten your energy?

Me

I suppose it might!  What sort of things would you recommend doing?

A

We might suggest starting with your foundation, your roots!  Bringing all of your attention to your root chakra and to your sense of connection with the earth.  You may notice that as you bring your attention to your root, and you begin to strengthen it, you also begin to feel more centred and grounded and less distracted and impatient.  Impatience is generally the result of energy that is scattered and ungrounded.

Once you have grounded yourself, it may be effective to bring your attention to your spine and to simply focus on bringing all of your energy into your spinal column and allowing it to flow up and down your spine.

You may also wish to experiment with bringing colour and light into your energy field, using the colours that feel appropriate to you in the moment.  There is no right way or wrong way to do this, as you experiment you will discover what feels good to you, which is the very best way for you to learn and also to find interesting and pleasurable ways to occupy your time when it seems that there is nothing to do but wait!

Me

I love this trick!  I have been practicing it and it works in all kinds of situations.  But is this really teaching me patience?  Or is it just giving me something to do?

A

Perhaps we can speak a little about patience?  You have been told that patience is a virtue and that patient people are good people, have you not?

Me

Well yes, of course!  Patience is good, impatience is bad!

A

And who decided this?

Me

I don’t know.  I really don’t.  I suppose if you are impatient, that means you get frustrated and you can be rude, that is why it is considered bad.

A

And if we give you something to do when you are feeling impatient, something that interests you and occupies your time, are you still likely to feel frustrated?

Me

No.  I definitely don’t feel frustrated now, I am finding the experiments with energy to be infinitely entertaining and interesting.

A

And so, what is wrong with occupying your time in this way?  Why do you still feel a need to be ‘patient’?

Me

I don’t know!

A

Might we suggest that patience may have become confused with peaceful?  Might we suggest that having the choice to feel peaceful could be a more useful focus than lamenting the idea of not being patient?

Me

That sounds highly sensible!  Can I do that?

A

Can you choose to focus on being peaceful, whenever you desire to?

Me

I suppose I can.  I will most certainly experiment with that!  Thank you.

A

You are most welcome!

2 Comments

Filed under Angel Advice

2 responses to “Help! I Have No Patience!!!

Leave a Reply

